The most ancient temple in the whole of Goa is located at a place called Tamdi Surla. The temple itself is built in Jain style in the twelfth century. There are some interesting details about the construction itself which has led to debates about the actual origins of the temple. The temple is built in a place which is quite inaccessible and away from the main settlements of the time. The size of the temple is quite small as compared to the size of the average Goan temple. And finally the top part of the temple has never been completed. The small, beautifully carved and perfectly proportioned black basalt temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva.
The archaeological Museum and Portrait Gallery, maintained by Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) has been functioning since 1964 in the premises of the convent of St. Francis of Assisi, Old Goa. The collections of the museums are displayed in 8 galleries. These includes portraits and sculptures from the prehistoric to the late mediaeval period. The portraits of Portuguese Governors are placed on the first floor which provides an interesting study in the evolution of court dresses. Other objects on display are lintel of a temple depicting various types of Shikharas, architectural pieces, sati-stones, hero-stones, an inscribed slab containing Kannada inscription of ‘Devaraya’ etc
The Tower of the Church of St. Augustine Built in 1602, the only ruin of the Church of St. Augustine on the Holy Hill at Old Goa near the Nunnery, is a lofty 46-metre high tower defying the torrential rains. The tower is one of the four of St. Augustine Church that once stood there. The Church when intact was perhaps the biggest in Goa.
The Viceroy’s Arch It is one of the gates of Adil Shah’s Fort at Old Goa. It was renovated by the Portuguese and was the gateway to Goa for Portuguese Governors. Every incoming Viceroy used to disembark at this place. The arch was rebuilt by the Governor Francisco de Gama (1597-1600) in the memory of his great-grandfather Vasco da Gama. It was again completely re-built in 1954.
The Gate of the Palace of Adil Shah – The palace of Adil Shah at Old Goa was the most prominent building with magnificent lofty staircases. It was the residence of the Portuguese governors till 1695, and was afterwards used by them on festive occasions. It was deserted during the epidemic in the 18th century, was demolished in 1820 and the materials carried to Panaji for construction of houses. Now only the gate remains which is architecturally purely brahminical in style. Six steps in front of the gate lead to the raised platform on which the gate stands.